![]() |
|
|
#1 |
|
New Romantic
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Calgary
Posts: 7,516
|
Dodgy ad banners?
Starting today, I've been seeing some weird behaviour from the ad banners here, including firing up Java but not actually doing anything, causing the "do you want to resubmit this form data?" when going back, and an attempt to run something with an unsigned certificate from "google-adservices.com", which is clearly not associated with Google.
Anyone else seeing these, in case it's just a local browser hijack? |
|
|
|
|
|
#2 |
|
Social Worker
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,276
|
I haven't seen any of that. What browser are you using?
|
|
|
|
|
|
#3 |
|
[Solium Infernum]
How To Go
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 14,238
|
Yeah, I've had java start up on me a couple times today for no reason. Probably related.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#4 |
|
Social Worker
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Montreal, QC Gamertag: FriarCoop
Posts: 3,597
|
Yes, I'm seeing a Certificate Trust message in Firefox from the dodgy google-wannabe site. I just keep hitting "No, don't trust" and moving on. I'm not sure which ad banner is causing it.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#5 |
|
How To Go
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 11,478
|
I got a prompt to install Java for Chrome today. Weird.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#6 |
|
Social Worker
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: I'm an asshole and I approve this message
Posts: 4,815
|
same thing happened to me when I was typing a post earlier today.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#7 |
|
New Romantic
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: GFWL: PogoTribal
Posts: 8,327
|
Tom's loggin' your keyz.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#8 |
|
New Romantic
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Calgary
Posts: 7,516
|
It hasn't reoccurred recently, so I guess some shady banners snuck into Google's network and were taken care of shortly thereafter.
Or maybe that's what the rootkit *wants* me to think... Edit: Argh, started happening to me again as soon as I got home, on my Mac too. Last edited by Fugitive; 01-12-2009 at 04:17 PM.. |
|
|
|
|
|
#9 |
|
Social Worker
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ferndale, MI
Posts: 2,867
|
It happened to me around 6:20pm EST. One of the banners was popping up that security certificate thing.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#10 |
|
New Romantic
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 8,672
|
That's really weird, you'd think google would be above that kind of nonsense... although I guess google=doubleclick.net now and doubleclick isn't above grinding up bleached baby bones to make flour for their daily bread.
If it keeps happening I guess send tom a PM. |
|
|
|
|
|
#11 |
|
[Solium Infernum]
How To Go
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 14,238
|
They are back. Page loads, no visible ad, but Java is running and doing something.
Not a fan of this. Not a fan of this at all. |
|
|
|
|
|
#12 |
|
Social Worker
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Virginia ---------> Steam ID: Point Blank
Posts: 3,141
|
Havn't had anything pop up yet on my home or work machine. Both use internet explorer if it makes a difference.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#13 |
|
How To Go
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 11,478
|
I just had Java start up for no apparent reason and then a status bar notification from Google telling me that something tried to change my default search settings and it blocked it from happening.
Some fucked up shit is afoot here. |
|
|
|
|
|
#14 |
|
Social Worker
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: ExecutionerFive, WHICH LOCATION!?!?!?
Posts: 4,087
|
I got the same thing, multiple stacked (10+) security permission request pop-ups from "Security CC LTC". The only thing open was the new posts page from Qt3, with a blank ad banner.
That's shady stuff right there. |
|
|
|
|
|
#15 |
|
New Romantic
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Calgary
Posts: 7,516
|
There have been Java exploits that let an applet get native access to your system, though I think they were in older versions of the JRE so you should be fine if you're up-to-date. It's extra-suspicious that the Java appears to be going ahead and running for some of you, though; it's been blocked by an untrusted certificate prompt for me.
I'm turning off in-browser Java anyway, just to be safe, as I don't think I'm using it anywhere anyway. |
|
|
|
|
|
#16 |
|
Spinning Toe
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Southeast, USA
Posts: 901
|
I'm getting the same thing on Windows XP with Chrome.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#17 |
|
Social Worker
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland Gamertag: shangius
Posts: 2,563
|
Yep. Have been getting the same frequently today. Really annoying, as it spams the Firefox warning dialog constantly until you manage to reload the page so that some other ad appears.
![]() |
|
|
|
|
|
#18 |
|
Social Worker
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ferndale, MI
Posts: 2,867
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#19 |
|
Social Worker
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Kingston, ON Steam:Staff Sergeant
Posts: 4,306
|
This has been happening to me too but while my pages were minimized, not the selected window, etc. I assumed it was some sort of really transparent spyware and I've run Spybot S&D like 3 times now. Never connected it with Qt3's banner ads.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#20 |
|
New Romantic
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 8,672
|
According to this, it looks like this is happening all across google adsense. I would hope google fixes it soon. Until then, don't accept the security warnings.
I can't replicate it, even when refreshing a couple dozen times, so I dunno. Maybe your machine is trojaned. |
|
|
|
|
|
#21 |
|
Social Worker
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada, eh?
Posts: 2,553
|
Noone here uses AdBlock or NoScript?
|
|
|
|
|
|
#22 |
|
New Romantic
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 8,672
|
If they do block ads, they're courteous enough not to brag about it here.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#23 |
|
Social Worker
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Kingston, ON Steam:Staff Sergeant
Posts: 4,306
|
Actually many people do brag about it.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#24 |
|
Social Worker
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Tampere, Finland Gamertag: shangius
Posts: 2,563
|
Disabling Java from Firefox seems to be the best workaround for now.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#25 |
|
Social Worker
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Austin, TX Live/Steam: roberdjp
Posts: 3,988
|
As of a few seconds ago, Chrome won't load quartertothree.com without clicking a checkbox saying I understand that the site appears to contain malware. Whoever currently hosts qt3 needs to get this taken care of.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#26 |
|
How To Go
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 11,478
|
Yep, this suddenly popped up for me. Chrome now identifies QT3 as a malware site.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#27 |
|
New Romantic
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Calgary
Posts: 7,516
|
It's possible something has infected the board software itself and is occasionally replacing the scripting that pulls in Google ads with its own redirection, but I haven't caught anything like that in the page source yet -- it's always still listed pagead2.googlesyndication.com.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#28 |
|
How To Go
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Michigan, USA Gamertag: Talisker 18
Posts: 10,526
|
Code:
<!-- google_ad_client = "pub-5008003621943549"; /* 728x90, created 7/7/08 */ google_ad_slot = "8596948173"; google_ad_width = 728; google_ad_height = 90; //--> In any event, I've turned my ad blocker back on for QT3 for the time being. |
|
|
|
|
|
#29 |
|
How To Go
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Michigan, USA Gamertag: Talisker 18
Posts: 10,526
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#30 |
|
New Romantic
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 8,672
|
Lovely, google is calling Qt3 a malware site due to their own ads.
|
|
|
|
![]() |
![]() |
||
Dodgy ad banners?
|
||
| Thread Tools | |
|
|