Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: Diablo 2 resolution

  1. #1
    Social Worker
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    The Bottomless Pit of Despair
    Posts
    4,766

    Diablo 2 resolution

    Is Diablo 2 with LOD resolution still stuck at 800x600? I'm feeling the itech to re-install and play it through again if I could play at 1280x1024, largely because everything looks rather meh outside of non-native resolutions on my LCD.

  2. #2
    Social Worker
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Austin, TX Live/Steam: roberdjp
    Posts
    4,776
    800x600

  3. #3
    Social Worker
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    The Bottomless Pit of Despair
    Posts
    4,766
    You know, I really wonder how much more work it would have entailed making it scaleable.

  4. #4
    New Romantic
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    PSN: Moggraider GFWL: MoggBerserker
    Posts
    5,537
    If you have the latest NVIDIA drivers, you can at least set a custom profile for this game and put some of the card's settings on high.

  5. #5
    Social Worker
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    The Bottomless Pit of Despair
    Posts
    4,766
    Thanks for the tip moggraider, but what precisely would that achieve?

  6. #6
    Social Worker
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    4,968
    16 x AF, 8 x AA in 800 x 600 glory?

    Result: Instead of looking like crap in 800x600 it will look as Antialiased Crap with no jaggies in 800x600.

    Seriously: Get a 14" monitor to play old games, they look like shit on 19< and above.

  7. #7
    World's End Supernova Chris Nahr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Aurora
    Posts
    16,703
    Quote Originally Posted by Destarius
    You know, I really wonder how much more work it would have entailed making it scaleable.
    I recall Blizzard saying that they deliberately did not put in resolution options because a greater field of visibility would give Battle.net players with more powerful systems an unfair advantage...

  8. #8
    Social Worker
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    4,968
    Everyone and their grandma had a more powerfull than 800x600 system back then.

    edit: Oh yea, 640x480... I HATED DIablo 2 because of that. I had expected DIablo 1 looking Better, but when it came out, it looked worse. Hated Hated Hated. Coupled with Battle.net being down. Spend a lot of time hacking characters/savegame and then left the game. :\ (and when I wanted to replay it, someone had stolen my cd's.. doh)..

    Worst game purchase ever. :)
    Last edited by instant0; 07-03-2006 at 06:57 AM.

  9. #9
    Neo Acoustic Gordon_Bleu's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Location
    Nashville
    Posts
    1,862
    I recall the original D2 was 640x480 and someone hacked it to play at 800x600 before the expansion officially provided that resolution. Maybe D2 can be hacked to play at 1280x1024?

  10. #10
    Social Worker
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Rochester, NY
    Posts
    4,580
    Quote Originally Posted by Destarius
    You know, I really wonder how much more work it would have entailed making it scaleable.
    The problem is that diablo 2 is 2d. Sure you can strech and scale the sprites out to whatever resolution you want, but they look like crap. The only option would be for them to include higher res versions of the tiles for every resolution they want to support.

  11. #11
    New Romantic
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    7,571
    I like D2 just the way it is. Get offa my lawn!

  12. #12
    World's End Supernova Chris Nahr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    Aurora
    Posts
    16,703
    Quote Originally Posted by Angrycoder
    The problem is that diablo 2 is 2d. Sure you can strech and scale the sprites out to whatever resolution you want, but they look like crap. The only option would be for them to include higher res versions of the tiles for every resolution they want to support.
    The graphics weren't changed or scaled for the step from 640x480 to 800x600, the expansion just showed more of the map. Which was actually very welcome since you no longer got shot at from beyond the screen, but you could sometimes bring monsters on the screen without them attacking you.

    The problem was really that the monster activation radius was roughly 600 pixels... they couldn't go higher without either changing the gameplay or else redesigning the graphics, as you said.

  13. #13
    New Romantic
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    PSN: Moggraider GFWL: MoggBerserker
    Posts
    5,537
    Quote Originally Posted by Destarius
    Thanks for the tip moggraider, but what precisely would that achieve?

    Well, I haven't tried it myself with the game, so I don't know exactly. But I did set custom settings for Guild Wars (maxing everything out) and it does look a wee bit nicer.

  14. #14
    Neo Acoustic Mark L's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Posts
    1,901
    When I saw the thread title, I thought it's content will be something like "I will never play Diablo 2 again! It ruined my life!"

    I confess to being a little disappointed, not that I want your life to be ruined. But still. Couldn't you ruin it just a little? For me?

  15. #15
    Social Worker
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    The Bottomless Pit of Despair
    Posts
    4,766
    Well, instant0 had his "worst game purchase ever!111!!" rant. Maybe that will satisfy your hunger for a little schadenfreude?

  16. #16
    Social Worker
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    4,968
    Quote Originally Posted by Destarius
    Well, instant0 had his "worst game purchase ever!111!!" rant. Maybe that will satisfy your hunger for a little schadenfreude?
    Lets hope so. :-)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •