View Full Version : Look out for the spyware banner
extarbags
11-25-2009, 07:06 AM
http://home.netcarrier.com/~geoff/deusex.gif
It links to a site that promises exciting pirated games that Tom hates, but delivers only foul spyware. Reported.
RyanMichael
11-25-2009, 07:08 AM
Awesome. They could not have picked a more perfect game to feature in the ad, either. I wonder if that was intentional or purely an awesome coincidence?
red guy
11-25-2009, 08:02 AM
I clicked on that banner once, then googled the address I landed at. I've forgotten its name.
They seem to actually offer real free & legal downloads of game demos.
Their download client is spyware/trojan-laden, but, again according to google, they may have dropped that download client, leaving a business model where they get ad revenue for allowing unsuspecting people to download totally free, legal game demos. Or maybe they are data mining by asking users to fill out a form before granting access to those Free, Legal game demos.
Anyway, it's free, legal and a bit of a scam.
stusser
11-25-2009, 09:47 AM
Evil aside, an innovative business model.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.0 Copyright © 2013 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.